Skip to content

Concert Review: The National at Prospect Park Bandshell: June 18, 2014

June 19, 2014

Yesterday I posted about the National’s first of three nights at Brooklyn’s Prospect Park Bandshell, putting up a bunch of photos from the show, since I was lucky enough to be very close to the stage. On night 2 I wasn’t as close, but still had a great time as I moved from the left to the right and took in the concert from a bunch of different vantage points. One thing I learned: Once you get past the very front, the crowd at Prospect Park isn’t very engaged with the show itself. There is a lot of talking during the songs, little dancing … it feels a lot more like friends hanging out with the National playing in the background than a full concert experience. It’s not my preference but as long as people are having a good time I suppose it’s OK.

Like yesterday, I’m going to post the setlist with a photo for each song. I’ve tried to capture sights and angles that I didn’t show yesterday, which you’ll see in some of these pics. And if you’re looking for more that just pics, my thoughts on the National’s live performances and spectacular catalog of songs can be found here.

Just before I get to that, one thing I love about the National that I learned from their six night stint at the Beacon Theater in December 2011 – they change up their sets night to night so that people attending multiple shows have a different experience. About half of the songs played last night were different from the night before. Very few bands mix things up that much. I’m almost persuaded to go to night three! Anyway, without further ado, the setlist and pics:

Don’t Swallow the Cap

NationalPP618_stage

I Should Live in Salt

Matt claimed that the band would be riding their bikes home after the show

Matt claimed that the band would be riding their bikes home after the show

Mistaken for Strangers

Matt dedicated this one to his brother, "who isn't here tonight"

Matt dedicated this one to his brother, “who isn’t here tonight”

Bloodbuzz Ohio

NationalPP618_bloodbuzz2

Sea of Love

It was really hot both nights. Maybe that's why the crowd was a little subdued

It was really hot both nights. Maybe that’s why the crowd was a little subdued

All the Wine

The Dessner twins dedicated this one to their sister

The Dessner twins dedicated this one to their sister

Daughters of the Soho Riots

NationalPP618_soho

Afraid of Everyone

NationalPP618_afraidofeveryone

Squalor Victoria

NationalPP618_squalor

I Need My Girl

Don't way to pay for the show? You could hang out on the nearby lawn and listen for free

Don’t want to pay for the show? Hang out on the nearby lawn and listen for free

This is the Last Time

NationalPP618_TreesCrowdLastTime

Baby We’ll Be Fine

Merch!

Merch!

Lit Up

Apartment Story

Sorrow

See what I did there? (Click the link)

See what I did there? (Click the link)

Pink Rabbits

England

NationalPP618_England

Graceless

NationalPP618_Graceless

Fake Empire

NationalPP618_FakeEmpire

[encore break]

[The encore is, sadly, when my phone died, so no photos of Matt running through the crowd during Mr. November (getting beat up and bloodied), standing on the front railing during Terrible Love, and once again singing Vanderlyle folk-style with the band. But I promise it all happened!]

Exile Vilify

Mr. November

Terrible Love

Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks

From → Concert Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

