Skip to content

Show You NEED To Watch Right Now: Orphan Black

April 27, 2014

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is Orphan Black. What is Orphan Black? It’s a Canadian television show airing on BBC America that just began its second season, but in my household (and many others) just began its first. Because it airs on the somewhat obscure BBC America, the first season arrived without much fanfare in the U.S. Like many people, I hadn’t heard of it until his month, when season 2 began. Now, it’s impossible not to hear of it. I for one learned of it from an episode of NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour (the inspiration for this weekly feature), but it’s been written up in every entertainment blog and magazine you can think of.

In addition to a brilliant premise (which I won’t spoil), the show thrives on the amazing performance of its star, Tatiana Maslany. She has earned rave reviews and a Golden Globe nomination. In season one, she played seven characters with vastly different personalities and accents. The show reminds me of the halcyon days of 24, when the premise was fresh and Kiefer Sutherland was at his Jack Bauer peak. That’s Orphan Black right now.

Meanwhlle, how popular has this little show become? It’s setting DVR records. It won a Peabody Award. It’s got its own tumblr.

So how do you find season 1? Amazon Prime worked for me. I signed up for a free 30-day trial and began my binge watching this week. I’m through 4 episodes and can’t get enough.

And That’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

From → Television

3 Comments
  1. I was one of the lucky ones to discover it on BBC-America from the beginning. I didn’t pay a lot of attention to the first few episodes. Enjoyable but confusing. Then I got really hooked. I’ve watched all of season one three times. The second viewing was good for figuring out what was going on and the third for enjoying bits of humor and the many nuances.

    • Any show that you can watch 3 times in its entirety HAS to be good. The only show I watch more than once each week is Mad Men, because the subtle humor is better each time through. I believe you that Orphan Black has more humor than I realize. Can’t wait to finish this season.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Television Upfronts: Revisting 2013-14, Looking Ahead to 2014-15 | 2bitmonkey

Leave a Reply

