Skip to content

Saturday Night Live Goes Brooklyn

March 7, 2014

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is tomorrow night’s episode of Saturday Night Live, with host Lena Dunham and musical guest the National. With the debut of both Dunham and the National, it’s official – SNL has finally realized that Brooklyn is where it’s at! It’s only a matter of time now before they move Studio 8H from 30 Rock to Bushwick.

Anyone who has been reading this blog knows about my love of the National. They were the subject of one of the first columns I ever wrote. I went to see them sing a single song over and over and over again. I gushed about touching Matt Berninger. What can I say? At this present moment they are unequivocally my favorite band (sorry Arcade Fire and the Strokes – your time has passed) and I’m glad to see them get their due on a national stage, pardon the pun.

As for Dunham, I’ve kept my admiration for her under wraps. I’m here to admit though that I’ve seen every episode of Girls and even her independent movie, Tiny Furniture. I have heard all the criticism of her – and there is no shortage of it – but I find her to be one of the truly gifted people working in television. Is the show perfect? No. Has she made mistakes along the way? Absolutely. But I agree with those who have called the show like nothing else on TV, which is extraordinary for essentially a kid. Show me the 25 year old – male or female – putting something as smart, challenging and funny on television as Dunham. (Now if we could just get a little less nudity from her every week I think my wish list for the show would be complete. Dunham sure does love her nudity jokes – see below.)

NBC put out a 3-1/2 minute trailer for the episode featuring Dunham and cast member Kate McKinnon doing a variety of short promos. Watch it below. The emergence of McKinnon is just one of the things I love about SNL this season. (The others: Really good writing. Cecily Strong. New cast member Sasheer Zamata, SNL‘s first African American female cast member since 2007. Cecily Strong.) This Saturday night should be a great one.

Bonus video: Watch Sasheer Zamata playing Madison, a girl who gives Girls tours of Greenpoint, featuring locations from the popular HBO show.

And That’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

From → Television

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

