Skip to content

Reading Bingo Challenge 2014

January 10, 2014

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is the Retreat book club Reading Bingo Challenge for 2014!

Last August I came across the Retreat (part of Random House Canada) book club Reading Bingo 2013 Challenge, a printable bingo card with 24 reading challenges, encouraging people to challenge themselves to read more and read more widely. Despite the late start I tried my hand at filling the card and by the end of the year I almost covered it entirely, coming up just two squares short. (I mean seriously – who gets book recommendations from their barista?)

This year’s challenge is now up, and while it won’t be easy I’m going once again try to fill the entire card:

Some early thoughts:

  • Last year’s challenges were somewhat more interesting than this year’s. A book you saw on TV? A book written by a celebrity? A book by a Canadian author? By comparison, this year’s challenges are mundane (though equally challenging). The folks at Retreat may have saved their creative juices for their spin-off YA Reading Bingo Challenge, which includes challenges like A Book with a Dragon and A Book Based on a Myth.
  • That said … A Book with Non-Human Characters? That’s going to be a tough one to check off. Though I do have a copy of Animal Farm lying around somewhere.
  • I’ve read two books this year and both fill multiple squares. Which reminds me to mention my (and Retreat’s) only rule – only one square per book. But I don’t have to decide just yet what squares I’d like to “use”.
  • Those two books? Morrissey’s Autobiography (a book with a one-word title, a book I heard about online, a book of non-fiction, a book with a blue cover) and Jim Thompson’s Savage Night (a book that is more than 10 years old, a book with a mystery).

Like last year I’ll be interested in hearing how others are doing. Let me know in the comments. Feel free to drop your thoughts or suggestions about particular books.

And that’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

