Skip to content

What’s Making Me Happy This Week: Not What You Might Expect

December 2, 2013

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

I’m a little late this week, but with the holiday weekend plus being a bit under the weather, well, hopefully you’re in the spirit to forgive me…

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is probably not what you expect to be making me happy this week. As I’m sure most readers have heard by now, Rough Trade – the iconic London record store – opened a large store in Brooklyn on Monday. From what I hear (I haven’t been there yet) it has a lot of pluses (performance space, import albums) and a few minuses (high prices, no used records). I’ll hold off judgment until I have a chance to actually get out there, but the real question in my mind is whether this large presence is an overall good thing or bad thing for record buyers and collectors like myself. That’s a thought (and probable long blog post) for another day. Suffice it to say for now that the opening of Rough Trade isn’t what’s making me happy, at least not this week.

So what is making me happy this week? The same thing that makes me happy every year at this time – Thanksgiving. There’s no pop culture tie-in here, so I’ll forgive you if you find this post uninteresting. For whatever reason I just really love Thanksgiving, as it’s the only holiday that I feel delivers year after year. Obviously Christmas/Hanukkah is wonderful, with everyone in a festive mood and giving gifts, but the weather is just a bit too cold for my tastes and as we all know, sometimes gift giving/receiving can be as disappointing as it is rewarding. Dressing in costume isn’t my thing, and neither are fireworks, so those holidays don’t excite me too much. New Years’ Eve confuses me, and religious holidays bore me, so that pretty much leaves Thanksgiving. Football never disappoints. Delicious dinners served in the late afternoon never disappoints. Fall weather and leaves and the colors of New York City in November, not to mention a giant Snoopy flying over 5th Avenue, these things just feel right. It may not be 4th of July warm, but Thanksgiving is the one time that New York City feels like a warm place to me.

And That’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

