Skip to content

Reading Bingo Challenge Update 2

November 22, 2013

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is, once again, my progress with Retreat book club’s 2013 Reading Bingo Challenge.When I last updated my status with the challenge, I had filled in 18 of the 24 squares on the bingo card and was in possession of  a library book that would allow me to fill another: #9, Book of Poetry. Of course, I had to actually push myself to read it, no small challenge seeing as I’d never before read a book of poetry (unless you count Shel Silberstein). I’m proud to say that I did it, reading and enjoying night thoughts: 70 dream poems and notes from an analysis by Sarah Arvio.

That made 19 out of 24. Here’s a further update to my entire Bingo Challenge list (be sure to check out the entire list here):

  • Two open squares were numbers 7 and 10, a book out of my comfort zone and a book by a Canadian author. Lo and behold I read The Stuff of Thought, a complicated book about language, by Canadian Steven Pinker. My plan is not to allow any one book to fill two squares, so we’ll see where this one actually ends up.
  • Square #11 is a book that will help with my career. Without going into too much detail, I completed this square with Nicholas Nassim Taleb’s Fooled by Randomness.

What’s left to complete?

  • Book I saw on TV. I stand by what I wrote in the summer: “Do people see books on TV? What TV shows are they watching? This is going to be a tough square to fill.”
  • Book recommended by my barista.

I’ve now covered 21 of the 24 squares – or 22, if I get desperate enough to count Pinker twice. In my defense, it was a really long, dense read! Those last two or three are going to be tough, but I have a little over a month to go. It’s going to be pretty funny in December when I demand that all of my coffee come with a book recommendation.

And that’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

