Skip to content

My So-Called Prom: A 90s Halloween Party with The Bayside Tigers

November 1, 2013

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is how I spent my Halloween. I got into my Delorean and took a ride back to the ’90s to attend the prom that I missed once upon a time. Yes, I attended My So-Called Prom: A 90s Halloween Party at the Bell House in Brooklyn, featuring “The world’s best 90’s party band”, The Bayside Tigers.

It was a sea of flannel and knit hats – just the way I imagine heaven looks. The Bayside Tigers – 3 men, 1 woman, all in costume – did an excellent job of covering the full array of ’90s music. Sure it was mostly grunge, but it wasn’t all grunge – one of the biggest hits of the night was when Raeya, female vocalist, did her best Alanis for “You Oughta Know”. Want to feel some ’90s nostalgia? Here are just a few of the well-chosen songs the band performed:

Beastie Boys “Sabotage”
Blind Melon “No Rain”
Blink -182 “Dammit”
Blur “Song #2”
Bush “Machine Head”
Garbage “I’m Only Happy When It Rains”
Green Day “When I Come Around”
Harvey Danger “Flagpole Sitta”
Hole “Celebrity Skin”
Lit “My Own Worst Enemy”
Live “I Alone”
Metallica “Enter Sandman”
The Mighty Mighty Bosstones “The Impression That I Get”
Nine Inch Nails “Closer”
Nirvana “Lithium”
Nirvana “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
No Doubt “Spiderwebs”
Pearl Jam “Jeremy”
Radiohead “Creep”
Rage Against the Machine “Killing in the Name”
Smash Mouth “All Star”
Smashing Pumpkins “Bullet with Butterfly Wings”
Smashing Pumpkins “Today”
Soundgarden “Spoonman”
Stone Temple Pilots “Interstate Love Song”
Tracy Bonham “Mother Mother”

Sure, a lot of those songs seem terrible now. A few were even terrible the moment they hit the radio. (I’m looking at you, Gavin Rossdale, for torturing my generation with “Machine Head”.) But to sing along with an energetic band and a Hallowwen-happy (and pretty inebriated) crowd all of those ’90s gems was a treat. I even sang Alanis too.

And That’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

From → Music

2 Comments
  1. Concertchick permalink

    Hey I like that Bush song! (But you probably figured that . . . )

Leave a Reply

