Skip to content

What’s Making Me Happy This Week: A Milestone Reached

September 20, 2013

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is completely and utterly 100% self-indulgent:

THE SITE HAS PASSED 10,000 VIEWS!

Built on the humblest of aspirations, the little 2bitmonkey blog has been seen by over 20,000 eyes in less than a year. I’m not giving away free pizza here, or unlocking the secrets of life. Just posting my thoughts about music, books, and some pop culture, and I’m proud to say that people are reading (or at least visiting). I never set out to generate page-views and actually devised the site to require as little clicking as possible, so this milestone truly is a meaningful one to me.

There’s more too: This past weekend one of my posts was re-blogged (Friday’s “New Music Discovery: Beast Make Bomb“), with the author listening to the music, saying “This band is interesting and just added some needed energy to a slow Saturday afternoon.” So my weekly feature on What’s Making Me Happy This Week actually made someone else happy and introduced him (and hopefully others) to some good new music in the process. I feel like this is a good thing. Unlike page views, that’s exactly (among) the things I set out to do!

Finally, in the wake of that post I received my first ever request to review a band’s music. Which means that not only are fans noticing the effort I’ve put in, but artists (or at least one artist) are too.

All in all, a sincere thank you goes out to that band (who shall rename nameless, lest I don’t get around to writing about them), thebrothersj for re-blogging me, and most of all to everyone who has visited 2bitmonkey and decided to come back for more.

And That’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

From → Loose Bananas

3 Comments
  1. Glad I could bring a little happiness into the world!

    Keep up the good work

  2. seymour skinner permalink

    sorry, man. my f5 key got stuck.

Leave a Reply

