Skip to content

This Week in Williamsburg: A Music Extravaganza

April 19, 2013

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week should be obvious based on my jubilant posts from the past few days, but in case you missed it, here’s a recap of my amazing 6-day stretch of music-related experiences in Williamsburg:

  • Last Thursday night, I made my first-ever visit to Glasslands to see Wavves & FIDLAR perform. (My review)
  • Friends_tweetTwo nights later, I found myself right next door at 285 Kent to see Friends put on a stellar show. (My review, which was retweeted by @285Kent and responded to by Friends!)
  • The next afternoon I went to the “Record Riot” at Warsaw on Driggs and picked up some amazing vinyl. (I’d hoped to talk about it here, but it seems to have gotten lost in the shuffle. Hopefully next week.)
  • Tuesday night I saw They Might Be Giants at the Academy Record Annex on N. 6 St., where the band performed a good length set for an in-store performance and then signed my records and posed for a pic. (My review)

And tomorrow (Saturday, 4/20) is Record Store Day! Personally, I think RSD has quickly become too commercialized and serves as a money grab for some artists and labels. Certain overpriced reissues and “limited edition” releases undermine the spirit of the day, which is about celebrating and supporting the independent record store. However, when it all comes down to it, I’m glad that Record Store Day exists. I find the cause an important one, as we need record stores to stay in business, and it does sometimes result in some really cool offerings that might not have been available otherwise. Plus … in-store performances!

Rather than go through all the great 2013 RSD releases and local appearances, I’m going to let someone else do the work for me. Here is the Brooklyn Vegan guide to RSD releases and their guide to in-store performances and special events. Here is the full list of RSD special releases for tomorrow.

It really is a good time to be a music fan.

And that’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

