Skip to content

The Believer 10th Anniversary Party

March 8, 2013

This is “What’s Making Me Happy This Week,” a weekly feature inspired by the Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What’s Making Me Happy This Week is an event that I attended last night, The Believer 10th Anniversary Party at (le) poisson rouge.  I could say that it made me happy because I am a fan of The Believer magazine, which is true.  I could say that it made me happy because Nick Hornby (a frequent contributor to the magazine) was there and he read a funny, autobiographical, unpublished essay to the audience. I could say that it made me happy because I was surprisingly both amused and informed by Believer co-founder Ed Park’s presentation on partial magic, which I will definitely write about at some point in the future.  But above all, the main reason the party made me happy was … free books!!

Believer-10th (4)The magazine was kind enough to hold a raffle for all new subscribers, of which I’m now one.  The grand prize was a week of emailing between the winner and Hornby.  Sadly, I wasn’t the lucky winner of this prize, but I was a runner-up winner, taking home a haul of the four Hornby books published by The Believer – More Baths Less Talking, Housekeeping vs. the Dirt, Shakespeare Wrote for Money, and The Polysyllabic Spree.  I already own and have read More Baths – it was the inspiration for my monthly column on “Stuff I’ve Been Reading,” (the first one covering More Baths itself) – but the other three books are new to me.  Any Hornby book is somewhere on my mental “to read” list, even one I’ve never heard of like Housekeeping, so this was a fun little prize.  Unfortunately, Mr. Hornby had to leave before the drawing so I could not get my books autographed (or get a chance to speak with him), which was a bit of  a disappointment, but hey … free books!!

Since I now own two copies of More Baths Less Talking, I’d like to pass along a portion of my winnings to one of you, my loyal readers.  I’m giving away a copy of the book (the new one of course!) to one lucky person chosen at random.  To enter the drawing, I ask that you do one of the following:

  1. Comment on one of my posts (preferably your favorite one) telling me why you like it.  Be as brief or as wordy as you like.  This is not about me fishing for praise (OK, this is not solely about me fishing for praise) – I’m actually hoping to get some feedback about what people enjoy and don’t enjoy about my writing.
  2. Tweet out a link to one of my posts (preferably your favorite one).  Follow me on twitter so that I know you sent it out and can enter your name in the drawing.

I’ll randomly choose a winner one week from today.  Thanks in advance  for helping me out … and good luck! It’s a terrific book. I’m glad I have the chance to give it away.

And that’s What’s Making Me Happy This Week.


Leave a Reply

